Honey Soy Chicken Salad

Hello Cheapskates!

Recently I have been “trying” to eat more healthy foods however its a big challenge for me because I really really really really love my food. Seriously, me and food is like the greatest love story of all time (hahaha). So I decided to combine my all time favourite recipes of easy peasy honey chicken and of course salad (everything is healthier with salad right?). Well here goes nothing! Give this a go (its fool proof for even people like me!)

Ingredients (Serves up to 4 people)

  • 1kg of chicken wings/ chicken thigh (juiciest) or chicken breast
  • 1/4 cup of honey
  • 1 cup of soy sauce
  • 2cloves of crushed garlic
  • Lettuce
  • tomato
  • cucumber

You can have any salad you like depending on your budget or what is in season for you

Steps

  1. Put the chicken in a large ziplock bag and simply add the honey, soy sauce and garlic
  2. Mix it well until all chicken is relatively coated
  3. Leave in the fridge to marinade for a minimum of 2 hours or if you’re like me, I usually prepare this for the next day/dinner for maximum taste 😛
  4. Once marinated, line a sheet of baking paper on a baking tray and preheat oven to 180-200 degrees celsius
  5. Put the chicken on the baking tray and put in the oven for about 40mins (make sure you check and make sure the chicken doesn’t turn black)
  6. To be safe, take one chicken out too see if it has cooked all the way through, if not, continue cooking until cooked through. If you’re worried about it burning/overcooking you can put some aluminium foil over the top so it doesn’t burn
  7. Once cooked, begin to prepare your salad. Slice up the lettuce, tomato and cucumber and arrange it to please you 🙂
  8. Now place the chicken on top of the salad

Bonappetite!

 

***Fresh vegetables can be expensive to buy especially on a student budget however, I believe it is important to include into your diet. Going to your normal supermarket can actually be more expensive which may deter you from using fresh ingredients BUT I have been fortunate enough to find my own local fruit and vegetable store which was considerably cheaper than supermarket giants. I was able to buy the 2 lettuces for $2, a packet of tomatoes for $2 and a cucumber for $1!!!!!!. I keep them in an air tight container or ziplock bag to last the week and use them to also make sandwiches for lunch! I recommend you to buy fresh vegetables and fruits from your locals to save a couple of bucks 🙂

Good Luck my fellow Cheapskates!

Leave a Reply

