Budget Pad Thai

I had this HUGE craving for some pad Thai tonight so I thought I wonder if I can make this on a student budget? Well luckily I had most of the ingredients already including the chicken because I keep it handy in the freezer when it’s on sale at the supermarkets. So here was my first attempt at making pad thai.. not bad not bad… it doesn’t look the best aesthetically but it actually tasted pretty awesome! It’s not authentic Thai (sadly I’m too poor to buy all the authentic ingredients) but it was pretty well close to what I can get! Enjoy and let me know what you all think!

Any suggestions for what you want me to make on a student budget, let me know and I can see what I can do for y’all!! 


Ingredients

  • 250g packet rice stick noodles
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons fish sauce
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons peanut oil
  • 2 chicken breast fillets, thinly sliced
  • 3 green onions, thinly sliced diagonally
  • 2 small red chillies, deseeded, finely chopped
  • Any vegetables you have
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup roasted peanuts, finely chopped, optional
  • 1/2 cup coriander leaves
  • lime wedges, to serve (optional)
  1. Boil the noodles according to their packet instructions
  2. Heat chilli in peanut oil
  3. Add diced chicken and cook until brown
  4. Move the chicken to the side and add  beaten eggs (cook it like scrambeled eggs) 
  5. Add the vegetables (for me I added carrots, beans, baby spinach, mushroom; just what I had in my fridge)
  6. Add drained noodles
  7. In another bowl combine the brown sugar, fish sauce and lime juice. Pour this over the noodles and mix through.
  8. Cook until the sauce starts to bubble a bit (about 2-3minutes)
  9. Serve in a bowl with some peanuts, corriander  and like wedges
  10. Bon appetite! 
Leave a Reply

